

Rose Potts honored with AACT Stroud Jordan award

ose Potts has been selected as the 2019 recipient Nof the Stroud Jordan award by the American Association of Candy Technologists (AACT). The award will be presented at a banquet honoring Potts during the AACT National Technical Seminar on October 15.

Potts is the corporate manager of sensory and product guidance at the Blommer Chocolate Company, where she has worked for over 30 years. Her experience at the company includes sanitation supervisor, quality control supervisor and working with the R&D team with an emphasis on sensory evaluation.

She is currently PMCA president and a member of PMCA's production conference committee. Previously, she has served on FCIA's board of directors and NCA's Supplier Advisory Committee and Chocolate Council.

Nearly every year since 1999, Potts has presented as a speaker at industry conferences and education events, including AACT national and regional chapters, Biscuit and Cracker Manufacturer's Association, Chocolate Manufacturer's Association, Fine Chocolate Industry Association, Institute of Food Technolo-Retail Confectioners gists, Association of Pennsylvania, Retail Confectioners International, PMCA and National Confectioners Association. She has



Rose Potts

authored multiple papers published in Manufacturing Confectioner and has lectured at Georgetown University and Utah State University. Time Magazine for Kids once interviewed her in a piece on interesting jobs.

In 2010, Potts received PMCA's Hans Dresel Memorial Award and the same year obtained a patent for a "chocolate flavor wheel." She is also known for bringing sensory evaluation outside of the lab, leading tasting sessions that pair chocolate with wine or beer.

This award is given in honor of Stroud Jordan to recognize individuals who have provided exceptional and outstanding service, not just to the AACT, but to the confectionery industry.

2018 Gwen Evenstad 2017 Pam Gesford 2016 Randy Hofberger 2015 Marleen Stauffer 2014 Michael Alllured 2013 Bob Huzinec 2012 Rich Hartel, PhD 2011 Terry Richardson 2010 Robert Boutin 2009 Judy Cooley 2008 John Urbanski 2007 Ed Wilson 2006 Paul Richards 2005 Ed Minson 2004 Tim J. Murphy 2003 Ron Bixler 2002 Reg Ohlson 2001 Melvin O. Warnecke	Past recipients of the S 2000 Ed Seguine 1999 Jack Collins 1998 James McGovern 1997 Richard Schier 1996 Reg Groves 1995 Joachim (Joe) H. von Elbe 1994 Carl O. Moore 1993 Allen R. Allured 1992 Patrick J. Huffman 1991 Walter Vink 1990 Patrick Hurley 1988 Maurice Jeffery 1988 John Kitt 1987 Odvar Solstad 1986 William N. Duck 1985 no recipient	1984 George Jenkins 1983 George Richardson 1982 Silvio Crespo 1981 Bernard Minifie 1980 Donald Mitchell 1979 John A. Kooreman 1978 Robert P. Allen 1977 Bart Siebers 1976 Lloyd Latten 1975 Gerald Doolin 1974 Horton Corwin 1973 Simon O. Schnitzer 1972 Fred Janssen 1971 Elwood W. Meyers 1970 Gordon R. Maybee 1969 L. Russell Cook	1968 Herbert Knechtel 1967 Jay C. Musser 1966 Rodney Welch 1965 John W. Vassos 1964 Prudence W. Allured 1963 Archie B. Cramer 1962 W. Tresper Clarke 1961 Samuel F. Hinkle 1960 Katheryn E. Langwill 1959 Otto H. Windt 1958 Horace B. Cosler 1957 Norman W. Kempf 1956 John M. Krno 1955 C. Rudolph Kroeckel 1954 Justin J. Alikonis 1953 Hans F. Dresel 1952 James P. Booker 1951 James A. King
--	---	---	---